Eastbourne United Youth vs Newhaven Youth

8 October 2017
Score: 4 - 1

Match Report

Eastbourne United U18 4-1 Newhaven U18 (HT 1-1)

The next fixture for Newhaven U18s wass an away game against Eastbourne United U18s at the Oval ground in Eastbourne, where it was hoped our unbeaten run would continue.

The squad was very familiar as was the actual team selection so hopes were high for a positive outcome.

Eastbourne started strongly and Joe in goal was forced to make a save in the first three minutes from a free kick and we were having problems getting into the match.

However, somewhat against the run of play we took the lead when we pressed the midfield area causing a back pass that was under hit and Drew latched onto it and going forward slipped it past the keeper.

This really did not change the pattern of play with Eastbourne pressing us and they equalised shortly after when we did not clear the ball from near the corner flag and the ball was won and crossed over into the 18 yard box where a striker latched on and struck it home.

We then did up our work rate somewhat and Spencer had a couple of efforts but both went wide of the target. 1-1 at half time.

The first half performance was not good enough and the players were encouraged to up their work rate and take the game to Eastbourne in the second half.

We did create a couple of chances in the first five minutes but one was saved and one went wide but at least we were playing better. Harry then had an effort that went just wide but this early pressure began to evaporate and Eastbourne then took control of the match.

They scored three goals in a five-minute spell that took the game away from us and although we tried to respond we did not create sufficient pressure to really threaten Eastbourne who comfortably held on for the win which they deserved.

So our unbeaten run is over but the players will have to dust themselves down and show a positive reaction for our next match which is a home game against Ringmer.

Newhaven: Joe Still, Louis Bass, Jimmy Collingbourne, Alfie Haggar, Toby Hunter (c), Stephen Nash, Toby Potter-Drake, Josh Silva-Carvalho, George Squires, Henry Thompson, George Todd, Spencer Wallis, Aaron Winser, Harry Woodward.