Newhaven have learned who they will be playing in the 2018/19 season after The FA’s League Committee revealed the provisional Step Five and Six club allocations for the upcoming year.

The Dockers will be coming up against four new teams as they look to build upon last season’s ninth place finish in the Southern Combination Football League Premier Division.

Champions Haywards Heath Town, promoted runners-up Three Bridges, and the two relegated teams – Worthing United and Litlehampton Town – will be replaced by Shoreham, who got relegated from Isthmian League Division One (South), and Little Common, Langney Wanderers and Lingfield, who were all promoted from Division One. Hassocks were reprieved and will remain a Premier Division side despite filling the third relegation spot last season.

Division One champions Little Common currently play at the Oval, home of Eastbourne United AFC, which means, with the promotion of runners-up Langney Wanderers as well, there will be four Eastbourne based sides in the division.

The Premier Division season is due to begin at the beginning of August, with fixtures likely to be released once those of the leagues above have been finalised.

Please also note that clubs at Steps Five and Six have seven days in which to appeal their league placings, so further changes could yet take place.

SCFL Premier Division
AFC Uckfield Town, Arundel, Broadbridge Heath, Chichester City, Crawley Down Gatwick, East Preston, Eastbourne Town, Eastbourne United, Hassocks, Horsham YMCA, Lancing, Langney Wanderers (Promoted), Lingfield (Promoted), Little Common (Promoted), Loxwood, Newhaven, Pagham, Peacehaven and Telscombe, Saltdean United, Shoreham (Relegated).

Leave a Reply